Thank you for visiting our website. We are proud to have been part of the local Tri State community for over 25 years now. We invite you to stop by one of our two convenient locations and see all that we offer. As a family owned and operated business we value your opinion. Steve’s Ace is constantly evolving. If you see a way we can make your life easier we encourage you to drop us a line. Have a concern? We want to hear that too. Thank you for your continued support. Steve’s Ace customers are the best around.

- Steve and Judy Selchert

Thank you for voting us the Best Hardware Store in the TriStates for the past 10 years!
We are proud to be a Revolutionary 100 Garden Center for 3 years in a row!

History

Established in 1988

Steve Selchert, a mechanic, and his wife Judy, a hairstylist, decided to purchase a banked owned Ace Hardware store one day before their youngest daughter, Tricia, was born. Today, the original two locations outgrew their homes and relocated to larger, more modern locations which are conveniently located  diagonally on opposite sides of town.  32nd and JFK is the location of Steve's Ace Home & Garden, which serves the west and north ends of Dubuque.  200 South Locust is the location of Steve's Ace Hardware and Rental which serves the growing and revitalized downtown area as well as the south end of Dubuque. 

The business not only includes hardware, but green goods, a flower shoppe, power equipment dealer and more. Two of the three Selchert girls help to manage the family business. Recently the Selchert's welcomed four wonderful grandchildren into this world, Spencer Jude, Skylar Lynn,  Hayden Chase and Emery Michael. You will often find these kids chasing the store kittys and chickens around the store on 32nd and JFK! The Selchert family welcome you to visit both their stores and say hello to the friendly staff that makes up the Steve's Ace family.

Contact

Steve Selchert
President (retired)

Judy Selchert
President
judy@stevesace.com

Sara Selchert Carpenter
VP of Operations
Master Landscape Designer
sara@stevesace.com

Phil Roth
Manager Locust Street Location
phil@stevesace.com

Erik Puls
Manager JFK Location
erik@stevesace.com

Tricia Selchert Kerth
Buyer & Sprout Manager
tricia@stevesace.com

Gina Selchert
Administrative Assistant
Gina@stevesace.com

Diane Riedl
Bookkeeper
Office@stevesace.com